Home Latest City Council incumbents secure seats

City Council incumbents secure seats

City Council incumbents secure seats
Photos by Victor Rodriguez | Assistant Multimedia Editor

The San Marcos City Council Place 3 and Place 4 elections were held Nov. 7. Despite challengers, incumbents remained in their with large majorities.

Ed Mihalkanin and Jane Hughson, Place 3 and 4 incumbents, will keep their seats and serve a three-year term.

Mihalkanin said he is confident in the future San Marcos.

“I’m appreciative of everyone who came out to vote today and during early voting,” Mihalkanin said. “I am grateful for the support. Different neighborhoods, different parts of town and different ethnicities came out equally. This really was a grassroots effort… and this really shows that the people of San Marcos are confident in their ability to guide the destiny of our community.”
Polls were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The following results are comprised from Early Voting totals as well as Election Day totals:

Place 3

Ed Mihalkanin – 1437 votes (65.35 percent)

Amy Stanfield – 762 votes (34.65 percent)

Place 4

Jane Hughson – 1,745 votes (81.16 percent)

Joshua Simpson – 405 votes (18.84 percent)

Final election results can be found at 6 p.m. Nov. 15 on the Hays County elections page.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here